Reminiscence

I grew up with this view for the first 13 years of my life. I haven’t visited in over 11 years but the sunset will always be waiting for me. I took this picture when I went to visit my grandmother. Little did I know that was going to be the last time I was going to see her. We were very close. My only regret was not being there during her final moments. I attended her funeral and that was the last time I went there.

It’s funny how my sister stood almost exactly where I stood when she took this picture. This was taken at a different time and tide, by over a decade! Clearly, my mother decided to put bars and more plants it seems. I especially like the opalescent display of the heavens, reminiscent of a fire opal. Opal happens to be my birthstone.

I used to go fishing almost every day. There used to be a bamboo bridge my neighbor put up and a gazebo right in the middle of the sea. I wonder if they still have it there. Probably not. The high tide usually slapped on the bridge at one point it was too dangerous to cross. One bad memory I had was seeing a sea snake twirl into a spiral going to the surface just to make its presence known then back into the sand. I don’t mind eels at all. I actually ate those, but sea snake is a different story. Ever wonder why most people don’t like snakes?

Dunno why I felt like writing about my past today. I suppose it’s a funny thing how my mind tries to divert my worry about the sunflowers I just transplanted yesterday. It is their first day battling the rain. I hope all of them would stay standing.

I hope you have a great weekend. I may sound a bit off but hopefully, this won’t last long, when the sun decides to come out. It’s true what they say. Too much gray triggers depression.