Entertaining Strangers

Today is the last day for the Tax-free weekend. I was drawn in to a department store website for the unbelievably good deals they had on boy’s apparel. They offered a store pickup as an option so basically, I finished the transaction at home and went to the store for the merchandise. We had to drive 22 miles to get it but it was a trip orchestrated by none other than God himself. I say this because 1) Every good and perfect gift comes from above (James 1:17). You don’t understand how good this deal was! All I can say is…take my word for it, and 2) Before we left the house, my husband prayed to God about something and he was expecting for such a speedy answer and I remember before we walked out of the house, he said “Baby, God didn’t answer my prayer.”

From what I have written on my previous posts, I have made my take known on God regarding our prayers, that He always hears and answers. It was too early on for my husband to rule it out and say what he said when the day was not yet over. So, we left the house with the most trivial things in mind and we came home with insights on God’s tender mercies and a couple of promises that was delivered to my family via a stranger.

I went into the store to pick up the items and since my husband loves to read the Bible as he waits for me (he does this all the time), being it a hot and sunny day, I saw the perfect spot for him to park which was under a shady tree. As I was inside the store, a man riding a bike came to my husband. My husband related to me that his tinted window was up 75% and he was less visible from the outside. Still, that didn’t stop the guy from seeing him. As this was happening, my husband was reading the scriptures and he saw the man on the bike from the corner of his eye. He looked up and saw a man with a tall stature. The man asked, “Would you happen to have any nickels or dimes?” He then proceeded to open the small compartment where he keeps his change only to find that he only had nickels and dimes which was exactly what the man asked for.

My husband opened the car door and as he did so, he quickly grabbed a tract to give to the man, who in turn asked, “What is this?” so my husband replied, “It’s a tract about the Lord.” The man said he was a Christian and started to spew out a couple of verses which were Romans 8:28 and 2 Timothy 4:22.

Romans 8:28
And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

2 Timothy 4:22
The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you all.

My husband has been praying that the Lord would speak to him. What boggles us is that the man came to deliver us these promises in such a time where my family is under some dire circumstances. This is not us putting one and one together and we don’t believe in coincidences. We believe in God’s sovereignty and how He orchestrated the events although seemingly so trivial lead us to His assurance that even though we are going through rough times, there are good things on the road ahead, and that we are not left to fend for ourselves but that His presence is always with us.

