Rest in God Who ALWAYS Hears & Answers

I’ve had quite a bout with prayerlessness. I have the desire to do God’s will and read the Bible, but my prayer life had been under attack. I would pray and shortly after I start, my thoughts begin to wander and I feel defeated because of that. My husband constantly prays for me in the aspect that my prayer life would improve in the way that I would seek the Lord above all things.

God has heard my husband’s prayer and I have been praying. The day I resolved to do something about it, to my amazement, I was able to pray without wandering thoughts. I would pray the words of the Bible about God’s will that He desires for all men to repent and come to the knowledge of the truth that they might not perish and pray over people I know. I have most specifically asked God not to delay in regards to the salvation of loved ones.

I have also prayed over some trivial things and what amazes me is that even though my communication with God was on hiatus because of my waywardness, He never seems to fail to reassure me that He is always there to hear and hear me indeed that I got a speedy answer to my prayer in which I so do not deserve. I ask, why? Why would God bother to answer me so speedily? Who am I that He’s mindful of me?

I am compelled to write this because I have just recently experienced His tender mercies and blessings (an answer to a specific request) and I can’t seem to shake off this feeling of restlessness. I have just had a mountaintop experience yet how quickly I feel like I’m on the valley and I don’t understand why.

Just before my husband went to bed, I had a quick conversation with him about what I am going through and he told me what I’m experiencing is mainly the enemy’s tactic to discourage me and that I should keep on the course. As I prepared to write this and settle racing thoughts of spiritual “Je ne sais quoi”, I decided to unwind by listening to the song “Restless”… It echoes the song my soul sings. How truly grateful I am for Christian Contemporary music.

…Oh speak now for my soul is listening
Say that You have saved me
Whisper in the dark
‘Cause I know You’re more than my salvation

Without You I am hopeless
Tell me who You are
You are the keeper of my heart

Still my heart
Hold me close
Let me hear a still small voice
Let it grow
Let it rise
Into a shout
Into a cry

I am restless until I rest in You

Jesus states a key passage to be meditated upon for answered prayers

“If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.”

John 15:17

